Total Slides 0 : Active Index 1 : Last Slide Divs 0

No events to show.

UNB Reds Claim 5th ACAA Championship

UNB Reds Claim 5th ACAA Championship

Fredericton, NB – The UNB Reds claimed their 5th ACAA championship banner Saturday with a tightly contested 34-27 win over the STU Tommies

These two great rivals provided an exciting championship game to the large number of spectators at college field. Both teams played and thrilling, hard fought match in the ACAA final with the Reds coming out on top.

The Tommies came out of the gate with speed from their backs, scoring an early try to get the game going. But the Reds came right back keeping the game tight.  STU scoring in the last minutes before half resulting in a close game heading into halftime.  At half the score was 24-17 for UNB Reds.  The second half was similar to the first half with strong play by both teams.  STU and the Reds both scoring in the back-and-forth contest. Unfortunately for STU, time was not on their side as the referee signaled the games end before they were able to overtake the Reds with the final score of 34-27.  Scoring in the championship game for STU was Kristen Bulman, Victoria MacKenize, Myriam Noel and Becca Baker.  Scoring for the Reds included Amy Andrews, Elizabeth Boissonnault, Lauren Tidd, Kianna Hughes Clarke, Adelaine Carten, and Kate Bennett with two converts.

Today's victory marks the 5th consecutive ACAA title for the UNB Reds dating back to 2015. Amy Andrews (UNB) and Becca Baker (STU) were selected as the East Side Mario Players of the Game.





2019-20 ACAA Women's Rugby All-Conference and Awards

The ACAA women's rugby banquet was held directly following the championship game. At the banquet the ACAA awarded the All Conference Awards along with the major league awards of Coach of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Player of the Year. 


  1. UNB –   Beau Greenwood-Gardner   Position:  Prop
  2. UNB –   Amy Andrews                    Position: Prop
  3. UNB –   Cori- Lynn Kirkpatrick        Position:  Flanker
  4. UNB –   Bailey Andrews                  Position:  Center
  5. UNB –   Addie Carten                     Position:  Full Back
  6. UNB -    Kate Bennett                    Position:  Stand Off
  7. STU -     Becca Baker                    Position:  Outside Center
  8. STU –    Kristen Bulman                Position:   Prop
  9. STU –    Olivia Ricketts                 Position:  8 man
  10. STU –    Emily Donelle                  Position:  Fly Half
  11. Mt. A – Lauren Boyce                   Position:  Fly Half
  12. Mt. A -  Kestia Milonga                 Position:   Wing
  13. Mt. A -   Diana Mason                  Position:   Loose Head Prop
  14. UKC -    Bridget Landry                Position:   Scrum half/fullback
  15. UKC -   Clair Jansen-Fraught        Position:   Wing /Scrum half 




Player of the Year

Beau Greenwood-Gardner, UNB       



Rookie of the Year

Sarah Hetherington, STU



Coach of the Year

Kevin Wilson, UNB