Total Slides 0 : Active Index 1 : Last Slide Divs 0

No events to show.

UNB Wins Third Straight Rugby Championship

UNB Wins Third Straight Rugby Championship

On a beautiful sunny November day the two best ACAA Women Rugby teams faced off.  The two-time defending champion UNB Varsity Reds against their cross campus rivals St. Thomas University Tommies.  College Field in Fredericton, was set to entertain a large crowd in great rugby final.

UNB opened the scoring early in the first half to jump to 22-0 lead. STU’s determination kept pushing them forward and scoring two tries to make the score 22-10 at half time.   The second half brought outstanding play by both teams as they went toe to toe.  UNB scored a couple of quick tries to extend their lead.  STU was relentless pushing hard to the very last minute where they scored the final try of the game.  In the end, UNB’s strong consistent play lead the team to their third consecutive ACAA Championship with a final score of 32-22.

UNB had tries from Mallory Pittman, Julija Rans, Taylor Morgan, Taran Price, Cailee Mousek.  STU’s offence was from Shannon Morris, Emily Donelle and Jessica Sauter.  The Players of the Game were Emily Donelle from STU and Mallory Knox from UNB.

The  ACAA women’s rugby banquet was held directly following the championship game. At the banquet the ACAA awarded the All Conference Awards along with the major league awards of Coach of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Player of the Year.   The All Conference Awards went to:

  1. UNB –   Taran Price                             Position:   Center/Standoff
  2. UNB –   Julija Rans                             Position:   Standoff
  3. UNB –   Olivia Cornier                         Position:  Fullback
  4. UNB –   Maria Muise                            Position:   No. 8
  5. UNB –   Taylor McAulay                       Position:    Open Side Flanker
  6. UNB -     Amy Andrews                        Position:    Prop
  7. STU -     Meghan Pollard                      Position:    Centre/Scrumhalf
  8. STU –    Shannon Morris                      Position:    Prop
  9. STU –    Olivia Ricketts                        Position:    8-man
  10. STU –   Abbie Leblanc                          Position:    Fullback
  11. Mt. A – Tristen Haley                           Position:    Fly Half
  12. Mt. A -  Victoria Sim                             Position:    8 man
  13. Mt. A -   Kelsey MacKinnon                   Position:    Wing
  14. UKC -    Isla Littlewood                        Position:   8 Man
  15. UKC -         Ariel Greenblat                  Position:    Prop


Rookie of the Year was Jessica Sauter from STU

Player of the Year was Taran Price from UNB

Coach of the Year was Meghan Morrison STU.